Burloak 3rd Overall at Nationals!

The 2013 Canadian Sprint Canoe Kayak Championships were held at Montreal’s Olympic Basin August 27 – 31st. Burloak Canoe Club finished 3rd overall out of 42 teams. Burloak CC won the U16 Women, Senior Men, and Master Women Division Burgees.

Congratulations to all athletes!!

Taylor Potts led the way with 7 gold medals and 1 bronze out a maximum of 8 races. Abigail Haines won 7 medals in total, 6 of them gold. Cory Rublee and Thomas Thrall won 7 medals: 5 gold and 2 silver. Jillian Perrone won 6 of her races. Aaron Rublee won 4 races and took silver in another.

All Burloak’s medals came from canoe races, with the exception of Alanna Bray-Lougheed who brought home silver in the Junior Women’s K1 200m, and bronze in the Junior Women’s K1 1000m race.

Colleen Nicholson and Kim Stephen raced in the inaugural Master Women’s C1 500m race, placing second and third respectively.

Joshua Havin, Lauren Clarke, Sheila Mehrvar, Jamie Andison and Adam Oldershaw won 3 gold medals each. Sam Pennyfather, Alanna Bray-Lougheed, Tessa Oldershaw, Emily Little, Kyra White, Lucy Pennyfather and Lise-Anne LaPlante won 2 gold medals each.

Other gold medalists included Jeremy Stott, Sam Smith, Jordan Van Veen, Chris Andison, Geoff Clarke, John Daley, Hunter George, Andrew Kasza, Chris Mehak, Delaire Nicholson, Morgan Oliver, Rebecca Yoshida, Kate Pennyfather, Catherine Penney, Michelle Olson, Makenna Humes and Sarah Nagy.